Discography

Back to the Overview

Olivier Darbellay - Zeitgenössische Musik für Horn

CD: Olivier Darbellay - Zeitgenössische Musik für Horn

Jean-Luc Darbellay (*1946)
1.  Spectrum für Naturhorn solo4'06"
2.  Espaces Magiques für Naturhorn und Klavier12'27"
Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
3.  Elegie für Horn und Klavier (1957)8'39"
Heinz Holliger (*1939)
4.  Cynddaredd-Brenddwyd für Horn solo 6'47"
Induuchlen. Vier Lieder für Altus (mit Baritonlage) und Naturhorn in F und Es
5.  Brienzinium „Uf steinigem Boden“4'58"
6.  „Zitronefalter“3'14"
7.  „Induuchlen“5'41"
8.  „Der Stäg“4'38"
Jane Vignery (1913-1974)
Sonate für Horn und Klavier
9.  Allegro7'32"
10.  Lento man non troppo 6'30"
11.  Allegro ben moderrato3'09"

Olivier Darbellay, Horn und Naturhorn

Kai Wessel, Altus (5-8)
Cora Irsen, Klavier (9-11)
Milena Mateva, Klavier (2,3)


Eine Koproduktion mit Schweizer Radio DRS2

Contemporary Music for the Horn

Music instruments are subject to change over time, both in technical and in aesthetic terms. Nor is the horn an exception in this: right at the end of the 17th century, the hunting horn – an instrument of wood, horn or metal with a history several thousand years old – found a new home in the world of European chamber and orchestral music. At first, its purpose was exclusively to depict hunting scenes, but very soon it was being used to convey more abstract musical ideas in sound, just like all the other instruments. In the last quarter of the 18th century and the first quarter of the 19th, the horn also became a popular solo instrument in works by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Weber and others, thanks to exceptional virtuosos such as the Bohemian horn-player Giovanni Punto (Jan Václav Stich).
The valve mechanism was invented at the beginning of the 19th century and was taken up in Germany and many other countries within just a few decades. Together with a change in public taste, this invention fundamentally altered the role of the horn: on the one hand, thanks to its considerably extended technical possibilities, the horn became a core instrument in the Romantic orchestra, to which the composers could above all give wonderfully lyrical solos. But on the other hand, at almost the same time, the valve horn more or less disappeared from concert programmes as a solo instrument with orchestral accompaniment. The natural horn, however, with its characteristic mixture of open and hand-stopped notes as well as its different sound colours in every different key, was sacrificed in the name of supposed progress. This was despite prominent supporters such as Carl Maria von Weber. The warm sound of the valve horn, which was even in every octave and every key, was now regarded as the ideal sound for the horn. Only in France did the natural horn remain in use, and was performed and taught up to the end of the 19th century.
Only a few visionaries such as the important French composer Charles Koechlin (1867-1950) were able to imagine a renaissance of the natural horn. Already in the years from 1932 to 1942 he wrote several works for ‘trompe de chasse’ (as the hunting horn is known in French), and in them he used the natural seventh and the so-called ‘alphorn fa’, the characteristic ‘impure’ natural notes of the horn.
While there was a substantial increase in the repertoire for the valve horn after 1945 (with works by Britten, Messiaen, Ligeti and others), the renaissance of authentic instruments in the realm of the Baroque and Classical repertoires led to a renewed interest in the natural horn, and this in turn led to a few new compositions being written for it. Several works for solo natural horn were written at the prompting of Hermann Baumann, as compulsory pieces for the competition he founded in Bad Harzburg.
Olivier Darbellay is very pleased about this expansion of the repertoire: ‘For me as an interpreter, the role of the natural horn in contemporary music is particularly appealing: during my studies, I occupied myself intensively with today’s literature for the modern horn as well as with the Baroque and Classical repertoires for the natural horn, so it comes as a matter of course that there should be a kind of synthesis of these superficially so very different worlds. Furthermore, I find the challenges posed by the expansion of traditional playing techniques fascinating. In an enriching collaboration with the composers themselves, we explored the possibilities of the natural horn, such that the works presented here display in part new, extended demands on one’s technique, be it in matters of stopping, or with regard to simultaneous playing and singing. In this manner, highly distorted, almost synthetic sounding notes can be drawn out of this supposedly so ‘natural’ instrument.

© 2003-2017 Jean-Luc Darbellay All Rights Reserved.   Last Update: 17.11.2012

deutschfrançais

Discographie

Retourner en arrière

Olivier Darbellay - Zeitgenössische Musik für Horn

CD: Olivier Darbellay - Zeitgenössische Musik für Horn

Jean-Luc Darbellay (*1946)
1.  Spectrum für Naturhorn solo4'06"
2.  Espaces Magiques für Naturhorn und Klavier12'27"
Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)
3.  Elegie für Horn und Klavier (1957)8'39"
Heinz Holliger (*1939)
4.  Cynddaredd-Brenddwyd für Horn solo 6'47"
Induuchlen. Vier Lieder für Altus (mit Baritonlage) und Naturhorn in F und Es
5.  Brienzinium „Uf steinigem Boden“4'58"
6.  „Zitronefalter“3'14"
7.  „Induuchlen“5'41"
8.  „Der Stäg“4'38"
Jane Vignery (1913-1974)
Sonate für Horn und Klavier
9.  Allegro7'32"
10.  Lento man non troppo 6'30"
11.  Allegro ben moderrato3'09"

Olivier Darbellay, Horn und Naturhorn

Kai Wessel, Altus (5-8)
Cora Irsen, Klavier (9-11)
Milena Mateva, Klavier (2,3)


Eine Koproduktion mit Schweizer Radio DRS2

Musique contemporaine pour cor
Même les instruments de musique sont soumis au changement, qu’il soit technique ou esthétique. Le cor ne fait pas exception. Vers la toute fin du 17e siècle, le cor de chasse – instrument de bois, corne ou métal déjà riche d’une histoire de plusieurs millénaires – entre dans la musique savante européenne comme instrument de chambre et d’orchestre, d’abord uniquement pour illustrer des scènes de chasse, puis très vite pour exprimer des idées musicales plus abstraites, à l’instar des autres instruments. Dans le dernier quart du 18e siècle et dans le premier du 19e, il devient également un instrument soliste apprécié des compositeurs – Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Weber, etc. –, grâce à d’éminents virtuoses tels que le Bohémien Giovanni Punto (Jan Václav Stich).
Au début du 19e siècle, l’invention des pistons (aujourd’hui palettes), qui s’imposent en quelques décennies en Allemagne et dans de nombreux pays, et l’évolution du goût du public modifient complètement le rôle du cor. Grâce à l’extension marquée de ses ressources techniques, le cor chromatique devient un instrument fondamental de l’orchestre romantique, auquel les compositeurs confient de magnifiques solos lyriques, mais il disparaît presque simultanément en tant que soliste de concerto. Quant au cor naturel, avec son mélange caractéristique de sons «ouverts» et de sons «bouchés» (à la main) et la couleur différente de chaque tonalité, il est sacrifié au «progrès», malgré des défenseurs éminents comme Carl Maria von Weber. Le son chaud du cor chromatique, son égalité dans toutes les octaves et toutes les tonalités, sont considérés comme le timbre idéal. Seule la France gardera la pratique et l’enseignement du cor naturel jusqu’à la fin du 19e siècle.
La renaissance du cor naturel était un rêve que ne pouvaient se permettre que quelques visionnaires comme l’illustre compositeur français Charles Koechlin (1867-1950), qui avait déjà écrit dans les années 1932-1942 un certain nombre d’œuvres pour trompe de chasse (autre nom français du cor naturel), où sont utilisées des notes caractéristiques «impures»: la septième naturelle et le «fa de cor des Alpes».
Alors que le cor chromatique connaît une extension substantielle du répertoire après 1945 (grâce à Britten, Messiaen et Ligeti, entre autres), le retour au cor naturel, dans le cadre de la redécouverte des instruments baroques et classiques authentiques, a suscité çà et là de nouvelles compositions. Un certain nombre d’œuvres pour cor naturel seul ont vu le jour grâce au corniste Hermann Baumann, qui les a commandées comme pièces imposées pour son concours de Bad Harzburg.
Olivier Darbellay se félicite de cette extension du répertoire. «Pour moi, comme interprète, le rôle du cor naturel dans la musique contemporaine a un charme particulier; comme je me suis intéressé avidement, dès mes études, non seulement à la littérature actuelle pour le cor moderne, mais aussi au répertoire baroque et classique pour le cor naturel, il en résulte une espèce de synthèse de deux mondes à première vue opposés. Une autre chose qui me passionne est le défi posé par l’extension des techniques de jeu traditionnelles. Dans une collaboration enrichissante avec les compositeurs, nous avons exploré les ressources du cor naturel, si bien qu’une partie des œuvres présentées ici imposent de nouvelles exigences en matière de bouchage ou d’emploi simultané du souffle et du chant. On parvient ainsi à tirer d’un instrument si "naturel" des notes extrêmement dénaturées, d’une sonorité apparemment tout à fait artificielle.» 

© 2003-2017 Jean-Luc Darbellay All Rights Reserved.   Last Update: 17.11.2012

deutschenglish